THE AMAZING NOSE

About 3 weeks ago, I went out to check on Tippy and she had a dead squirrel she was playing with.  It looked petrified, so I have no idea where she found it.  Since it wasn’t smelly and she wasn’t getting “nasty” playing with it, I left it alone.  However, after she came in for the night, I went out and threw it down the hill, hoping that would be the end of that toy.  Of course, the next day, she found the thing and it was right back in the yard.

I went on vacation last week and left Tippy with her dog behaviorist.  One of the first things I did after she picked Tippy up was to get the poor dead animal and throw it down the hill, further away from the house.  Unfortunately, it hit a tree, so didn’t go as far down the hill as I wanted, but it was far enough away from the house that I hoped some critter would find it and get rid of it for me while we were gone.

The first morning I was home and had Tippy back, she wanted to go outside right after she ate.  Within 5 minutes, I heard her bounding onto the front porch.  I went to the door, looked out, and this is what greeted me.

20160213_104727
Tippy and the petrified, frozen squirrel.

I was surprised that she found it, since it is not only petrified, but frozen solid too!  The dogs sense of smell amazes me!

If you are interested, I found this blog post that is an excellent article on the canine sense of smell.   Who knew that search and rescue dogs have found a drowning victim in 80+ feet of water?!  Kind of makes finding a frozen squirrel sound like child’s, or puppy’s, play, doesn’t it?

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “THE AMAZING NOSE

    1. Yes it is. But, it’s outside and doesn’t stink, so I have given in to letting her play with it as long as she wants. I have had to bag up a rabbit that she found that was in the process of decay and take it a mile away to where she couldn’t find it. That was really gross!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can only imagine haha. I guess sometimes we just need to make our pups happy even if what they want is gross. It is funny how they love things that smell horrid. I am glad I don’t have a sense of smell as strong as a dog.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. I hadn’t really thought about it, but I guess I’m glad I don’t have their sense of smell either. Even though, when we go out in the morning and she is sniffing all the new scents from the animals that wondered by during the night, I wish she could tell me what they were. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Smell is how dogs see the world first, then with their ears and eyes (at least, that’s how it’s supposed to work if the dog is balanced). Our dog has a smushed face, so we often get him to practice using his nose by scouting out where we’ve hidden treats.

    I have a section on my blog dedicated to the life of our boxer, B, actually: https://lifeat28andcounting.wordpress.com/category/dogs-life/

    Have a great weekend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes. I agree totally. I think Tippy is a pretty well balanced dog, even though at times she uses her eyes first, especially when she sees a squirrel or a rabbit. She will usually follow it until she losses sight and then start smelling where it has been.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

