ARE THEY BLOOMING YET?

One of my favorite spring wildflowers that grow in the woods around my house are the Trout Lilies.  Like most wildflowers, their blooms are short lived, so I often miss them in all of their splendor.  Tippy and I decided to traipse down the hill today to see how they were coming along.

Tippy in the woods 2
Tippy helping me look for wildflowers.

As you can see from the pictures below, the mottled leaves are up, but no flowers yet.

 

I did find some Toothwort and the Redbud trees are blooming.

 

I wasn’t planning on taking our usual hike back in the neighbor’s field, but, this is what I found when I got back to the house.

Patiently waiting
Please mom, can we go for a walk?

I couldn’t resist her cuteness and patience, so, off we went.  I didn’t go as far as I usually do, wanting to avoid the buried animal that caused us problems on the last walk.  I turned around about 2/3 of the way there, but Tippy went on.  I decided to just leave her and hope she didn’t go dig it up.  But, I really didn’t want her to, so I started back that way to retrieve her.  I hadn’t gone far when she came running toward me.  Whew!  No dead thing to worry about today, or so I thought.

On the way back to the house, I lost sight of Tippy, but found this well camouflaged butterfly, or it could be a moth.  I didn’t look close enough.  I wouldn’t have found it had I not seen it land and then hunted for it.

Camoflaged moth
Well camouflaged.

When I got back to the house, Tippy was already there, laying in the yard.  I immediately knew that she had found something.  It sort of looked like the hide of an animal, so it could have been that some other critter had dug up the dead thing and left this behind.  I really don’t know.  Since she didn’t growl at me when I got close and I was confident that it wasn’t going to hurt her to eat it,  I just left her alone to enjoy her find.

Tippy and her dead thing
Yummy. I don’t know why mom thinks it is yucky.
Leave a Reply

