THEY’RE BLOOMING

After our uneventful walk today, Tippy and I went back down into the woods to check on the Trout Lilies.  They’re starting to bloom!  My guess is that they will be at their peak in 3 or 4 days.  I wish the pictures could show you the extent of the patch…it covers the entire hillside and valley.  In the bottom right picture, you can see some Trillium at the base of the tree that hasn’t bloomed yet.

On the way back to the house, Tippy was running around, wanting to play fetch with every tree branch she found.  I was just wishing it could have been downhill both ways.

Tippy looking for flowers
 Come on mom. You can do it!

A little while later, I was in the house and heard her barking. You may remember that she only barks when something is not as it should be, in her opinion, so I went out to see what was wrong.  I found her about half way down the hill beside of the house, barking her head off.

Tippy barking
Mom, I heard something!

I followed her gaze and finally figured it out.  A tree at the bottom of the hill had fallen into the little creek that runs through the property.  It broke when it fell, so I’m sure it was loud and scary to her.

 

Fallen Tree

I assured her that I saw what it was and it was okay.  That’s all she needed.  She stopped barking and followed me back into the house.

This reminds me of when she was little, and her crate was out in the garage (more on that later). Every once in a while she would bark once, maybe twice, long after I had put her to bed.  I’d go out, turn on the light, look under the car and truck, and assure her nothing was there and everything was okay.  That’s all she needed.  She wouldn’t bark again the rest of the night.  Just like a toddler, needing mom or dad to come look in the closet, or under the bed, to ensure them that nothing is there so they can feel safe and go back to sleep.

16 thoughts on “THEY’RE BLOOMING

    1. The common name is the Dogtooth Violet – referring to the toothlike shape of the white underground bulb – according to my National Audubon Society Field Guide to North American Flowers. I think they are a beautiful flower.

      Like

    1. I’m not sure of the zones, but according to my field guide they range from Ontario to New Brunswick and Nova Scotia, south through New England to Georgia; west to Tennessee, Arkansas, Oklahoma; north to Minnesota. They are pretty particular about their habitat: rich woods and meadows. I’m pretty sure I read somewhere that they aren’t easy to get to grow in a home garden. I know that I tried to transplant some just up the hill from where they are, and they all died.

      Like

  1. Well, we don’t live in a meadow. .not sure if the woods are rich enough….;) BUT….
    We do have all a person and several companies need in the way of darn boulders! Lol.
    Help….I need real dirt. :p

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

