THE TRIAL BEGINS

“Don’t worry about failures, worry about the chances you miss when you don’t even try.” –Jack Canfield

Before I make a decision about adopting Star, I decided that a trial run would be necessary.  I want to see how Tippy handles having her here all the time and, how I handle having two dogs.  So, my trainer brought her here this afternoon to begin the trial phase.

We let Tippy and Star play outside for a few minutes and then brought them inside and set up Star’s crate.  I thought I was in for a long day/night when she immediately started barking.  I think she just wanted out to play, but she isn’t totally house trained, so has to be in the crate most of the time when she is inside, for now.

When the trainer left, I got her out of the crate and took her and Tippy for a walk back in the hills where Tippy and I always go.  I had Star on a long line and let Tippy run free.  She stayed closer than she usually does.

star closeup
I think I like it here. It’s a little hot though.

We stopped for a break before turning around to come back.

taking a break 2
Taking a break in the shade.

When we got back to the house, Star used Tippy’s swimming pool, aka water bowl, to cool off.

I brought them back in the house, where it was cool, for a mid-afternoon nap.  Tippy started in her crate too, but I let her out.  This is where she ended up.

sleeping after walk
Tired and napping after a long, hot walk.

Star has not barked at all since we got back, even when she couldn’t see me.

I took them both outside later for a potty and play break.  There was a storm in the distance.  When it thundered, Star got scared and ran under the chair I was sitting in.  I just let her be and petted Tippy, when she came over and sat in front of us.  It wasn’t long before Star tentatively came out.  We took a short walk and she was fine.  Tippy was frightened of her first storm too.  I remember it was a close one with lots of rain.  I just had her come in the garage, closed the door, and we played games while the thunder rolled outside.  She hasn’t been afraid of them since.  I’m hoping the same will happen with Star.

I really thought all was going well until we came back inside.  I put Star in her crate and left Tippy out.  I sat where Star could see me.  Tippy decided that she wanted to be a lap dog, which she does every once in a while.  So, I stopped what I was doing and cuddled with her for a few minutes.  Then, she decided that she was going to go into the forbidden bedroom and lay down.   I had to go sush her out at least four time.  The last time, she went over and layed in front of the door going out into the garage.  I am feeling like she isn’t real keen on the fact that Star is staying and didn’t go home after what she considered an appropriate amount of time.  Maybe a little bit of jealousy.

As I was finishing typing this last paragraph, Tippy came back and got up on the couch with me – curled up at my feet.  I’m going to try to take cues from her over the next few days to see how she feels about Star.  I don’t want to adopt her if it is going to upset Tippy.

If the trial “fails,” and we decide that Tippy doesn’t want a little sister, at least I’ll know we tried.

 

This is day 3 of the 3 day quote challenge.  (Yes, a few days apart.  Like I have said, life sometimes gets in the way of blogging…as I think it should.)  I nominate the following bloggers for the 3-day quote challenge:

Oshie’s World

Saving Sammie

The Woodland Gardner

If you accept, post 1-3 quotes for 3 consecutive days (or whenever you make your next 3 posts), and nominate 3 fellow bloggers to do the same each day.

 

 

 

31 thoughts on “THE TRIAL BEGINS

    1. Yes. Tippy is doing so great. I don’t want to do anything to mess that up. I just took them out for a night potty break and played with them both a little while. Tippy is now laying beside of Star’s crate. So…..

      Liked by 2 people

      1. I saw that. It shows Tippy likes Star already. They don’t know each other too well yet, but to me it sounds like they are off to a GREAT start already!
        What kind of dog is star? Part spaniel of some kind?
        Looks like Star loves water. You should have saw how our dogs got along when they were introduced. ..wow. you would never believed it would work but it did. It took alot of patience. Seriously.
        And yes, dogs do get jealous of each other sometimes. You just have to try and even them out. Pay the same attention as to the other one. And it will be okay. They are like people with different personalities, but still can be friends.
        I will try to write something on my blog about them when they first met..plus the cats. 😉
        It has been interesting!
        Star is so cute. If I lived by, I would love to have her.

        Like

      2. We aren’t sure what Star is, since she is a rescue. They are pretty sure she is part border collie, so another one with herding instincts. My neighbor’s cows may not like that! 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Tippy is part Australian Shepherd, we think. She does have that herding instinct. If the cows aren’t all together, she will try to get them there. For the most part, I can get her to stop. I know my neighbor. He would NOT understand that she is herding and not hurting them.

        Like

    1. True… they want to make sure you still love them. And doing things together can lighten up the load later.
      The picture of Star with the tongue hanging out looks like shes thirsty and happy! The eyes show it.
      Maybe shes thinking she finally has a forever home now. 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

  1. I’ve apparently been away from Blogland for too long! Star sounds like she’s fitting in well 🙂 Two are definitely a handful, but it’s nice for them to have a constant companion/playmate. I hope this trial period continues to go well, and I’m glad to accept the 3 day quote challenge!

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I thought the lap dog moment might be jealousy as well – Choppy suddenly NEEDS to be petted and wants to do it from my lap the moment another dog/cat/child is getting my attention. This sounds similar.

    I’m glad to see in the comments that things are going well this morning!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I think you are doing a great job taking your cues from Tippy. It will certainly take a little time for them to become accustomed to each other. Tippy may feel a tad jealous until she realizes that you are not “abandoning” her for another pup. She will be a valuable asset in teaching Star the workings of your household and helping house train Star. My old girl taught several foster puppies that “Outside” is where “we” go. Wishing you all the best with Tippy and Star!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Does Tippy like the water too? If she does, you might consider getting a smallish kiddie pool. Some dogs have a great time in it. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Tippy is a little tentative around water, but does wade out into the pond to get a drink when we are out walking. She got scared when she was a little puppy by jumping into the pond, not realizing what is was, and went under. She did swim out, but hid for a long time, scared. Then, when I went hiking, she fell into a river head first (a post I need to do) and was again scared, until I called her and she knew which way to swim. Having said that, a kiddie pool would probably be fun for both of them.

      Like

      1. Bad experience with some water..
        Maybe fill it about three inches deep. Just enough to play in and not go under….summers coming along soon, least down here. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Aww…sounds like she had a little water problem. Hopefully she will put it past her.
        Zak loves water ( he gets excited ) , but zoe doesn’t too much.
        Zoe is a bit of a party pooper Lol.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

