THE TRIAL, TAKE TWO

My first trial with Star lasted less than a day.  Not because it didn’t work out, but because I wound up working the next day and didn’t want to leave her in the crate for 8 + hours.  So, the trainer came and took her back.  Since then, I have been crazy busy working, volunteering, playing tennis, and going on vacation for a week.

I went by and picked up Star for take two of the trial this past Thursday afternoon.  Tippy was NOT happy when she first got out of the car.  I don’t know if it was the fact that Star got to ride and she didn’t, or if it was the close proximity of a delicious bone that Tippy and I had a round over the day before.  At any rate, I got the bone and threw it away, untied Tippy, and all was well.  I laughed at them with one of Tippy’s old bones.  Star would get it and chew on it for a minute, leave it, Tippy would get it, leave it, Start would get it, leave it, etc.  I think they really didn’t want it, just didn’t want the other one to have it either.  LOL

Tippy, Star, and the bone
Okay Star. You can have it for a minute, but don’t forget, it IS mine.

She has gotten a taste of what it will be like living with me, as I went that evening and played tennis and then worked for a few hours yesterday afternoon.  (I substitute teach at a local daycare, so never know when I will be needed.)  While I was gone, I left her and Tippy in their crates.

I thought I was going to play tennis after work yesterday, so had mom and dad come up to do a trial run of taking both dogs for a walk.  I had dad to get Star out of her crate.  At first, she was afraid of him, barking and cowering at the back of the crate.  They had been here when I had her before and she was okay with him.  Not sure what the fear was about unless it was the fact that he started coughing when he bent down to put the leash on her.  After the initial fear, and she was out of the crate, everything went well.  It rained, so I didn’t get to play tennis, but mom and dad had already taken them for a walk before I got home.  They said she did great.  This, too, is part of living with me, so it was good for all concerned.

I am leaning toward keeping Star, but today Tippy seems unhappy that she is here.  So, I am still on the fence.  What has Tippy done to make me feel that way, you may be asking?  Well, it started this morning.  When I got up, Tippy was laying under the window in my bedroom.  The bedroom has been a “no Tippy zone” ever since she has been an inside dog and she has respected that boundary, for the most part.  She has never been in there at night.  I am thinking that she was wanting space from Star, even though Star was in her crate and not making any noise.  I found her laying in there later this morning too.  I laid down with her, talked to her, and petted her.  She just seemed sad.

I have been outside with them a lot today and Tippy is mostly ignoring Star, who just wants to be as close to me as possible.

Star at my feet
Star, laying at my feet.

Tippy has come by for some lovin’, but has mostly been standoff-ish.

If it were a question of just adopting Star and Tippy wasn’t involved, there would be no hesitation.  But, I’ve had Tippy for 3 years and part of my wanting to get another dog was to give her a companion when I’m gone.  If she is going to be unhappy, I will have to say no, as much as I hate to.  I wonder if Tippy will ever get over the jealousy, and, if so, how long it will take?

I am busy again all week next week, so the trainer is going to come this afternoon to take Star back to her house.  After that, I have already told the daycare I can’t work for two weeks because I have to do all the last minute things that need to be done before our Relay For Life event on June 11th. I will probably to a take three then and see if Tippy comes around.    (BTW, Tippy wanted in the house a few minutes ago.  So I let her in and Star and I stayed outside.  That is so unlike her.)

If you have gotten a second dog and had to deal with jealousy, I would love to hear your story.

28 thoughts on “THE TRIAL, TAKE TWO

  1. I think it is natural that there is a little jealousy there. It happens when you have a dog for a while by itself and it bonds to you and has no competition. Oshie is the same way. He is friendly with all pups however he gets jealous. I think if they are together long enough all will be well unless of course you are seeing signs of aggression. The bone story is funny. The same thing happened here when we were watching our friends Dog Lucy. One would get the bone then the other and back and forth they it would go. Have a great rest of the weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks. I have seen no signs of aggression, so I think, eventually, it would be okay. I just don’t want Tippy to be unhappy as she is such a happy little thing now. I thought a friend/sister would be good for her. It still may be, just needs some time. Just like when a family has their second child. Eventually, the first one comes around. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh, poor Star. Poor Tippy. My cat, Kitty was 8 years old when I brought home Parker (a rescue 6-week old kitten).Right from the start Kitty did not appreciate Parker being in the house. Then it got so bad with Kitty acting just like Tippy that I took her to the vet. The diagnosis? Depression. Kitty and Parker avoided each other (translation: Kitty hissed whenever Parker came close to her), although they would lay on the chair and sleep together. I had to have Kitty put down last week and I truly think Parker misses her. This was my take with cats. Much as I am pulling for Star, if it going to upset Tippy, that is a lot to consider. Parker is adorable (almost 3 years now), but I think I did a disservice to my poor Kitty.

    Like

    1. Sorry for your loss. It’s hard to loose an animal you have loved for so long. I’m sure that Parker does miss Kitty. As for Star, I am going to do another trial after next week. I should have 2 weeks where I will basically be home with them. That will have to be the decision point because, the older Star gets, the harder it will be to get her adopted by a good family.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. So sorry that your cat has kidney disease. Sometimes, there is no choice. In this case, I am fortunate that there is and I can take my time in making a decision.

        Like

  3. This story reminds me of what people who have a second kid have told me. At first, the kid one loves the novelty of the baby. But when he/she realize it’s staying, they start to regress in behavour, even peeing pants etc.

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Mine did not. It was quite clear that Parker preferred my other cat, Teemu and not Kitty. Thinking about it though, Teemu is a male cat; Parker and Kitty are ( were for Kitty) females. I wonder if that was the problem. My vet says sometimes they don’t get along and that is just that. Which is was, because Parker and Kitty just agreed to disagree.

        Like

  4. When Simone first got her rabbit, Clover, Daisy (German Shepard) was very jealous! She was panting and had the ears back/worried face every time the bunny was out – which was constantly! She even broke into Clover’s cage and carried her into the living room with her mouth! Now, a few weeks later, Daisy doesn’t mind Clover and will come sniff her when she’s out- but she’s no longer jealous LOL! Good luck 🐶 and I love seeing pictures of your pup!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sounds like you have a pretty busy life.
    Looks like tippy is jealous.
    The attitude tip had about this time. And the going into your room at night. Tip wanted to be closer.
    And the pictures…toppy is so far away from Star. Star sounds unhappy. And especially staying in her crate. Not good. Evr n with the petting.
    Animals can sense a favoritism. And…you do have one towards tippy. I’m not meaning to sound mean..
    Maybe tippy prefers to be alone. Some do.
    Personally? I think Star would be better off with a one on one famoly you know? Maybe a family with a kid that would lovr her alot and spend a lot of time with.
    Is there a reason that they are crated? Do you have a fenced in yard with shade your dog could stay out in?
    Just wondering. The outside makes a animal ( and person) feel so much better….running around in the sun and playing.
    But for Star…I think it may be best she migh have another family.
    Just my thoughts on dogs. Some are just one on one dogs…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for your input. Star is crated when inside right now because she isn’t potty trained. When she is here, we have been outside a whole lot more than inside, so she isn’t in the crate all of the time. Right now, I do have favoritism toward Tippy. I think that is natural since I’ve had her for 3 years and Star for 3 days. I am going to give it another go next week and then decide. I appreciate your input and did not take it as mean at all. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Sorry..it just seems like tippy is happy by herself. And Star is looking for a one person owner. If that makes sense?
    And maybe star is afraid of some men…maybe that is why she barked at your dad ?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Star really is a happy little dog and right now is in a house that has 4 others and more that come and go. So, I don’t see a multiple dog house as an issue for her. I think I am being too anthropomorphic and it is probably more me than them. LOL

      Liked by 1 person

  7. If both are female – and I am assuming they are – that could be your problem. Females of any breed can take offense to another female entering their territory. After the 2nd attack from my Bella towards Sookie, in which they ere both hurt badly, I was forced to have Bella put down. No shelter would take her and adopt her out because she was considered dog aggressive – which she wasn’t – with males. The shelter refused to take a chance and my son, understandably, refused to let me keep her since Sookie was so badly hurt. I will never make that mistake again – I am still grieving over her loss.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, I am so sorry that happened to you. Tippy and Star actually do get along great. It was just going to be too much for me at this point in my life. It was a tough decision, but the right one. Fortunately, my trainer still has Star, so I get to see her every once in a while and Tippy gets to play with her when she stays there. To me, it’s a win-win.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

