SURPRISE

Tippy spends a lot of time outside, so she has an outdoor and an indoor water bowl.  The one I got her for outside is made of a material that won’t get hot if it happens to get in the sun and has space around the bowl on the bottom on the underside.  It had the added benefit, when she was a puppy, that she was unable to pick it up and carry it off.

I left the house at 7:15 this morning.  As is our routine, I tied Tippy out before I left and filled up her bowl.  I was going to be gone longer than normal today and they were calling for thunderstorms after noon, so, late this morning my mom and dad come up, let her run around for a few minutes, and then put her in the house.  When I got home, I took her outside and moved her water bowl into the garage. She sat at the faucet, wanting a drink, as she has done since she was a puppy.

While she was drinking, I looked over to where the water bowl had been sitting, and this is what I saw.

ant pile
What in the world is that?

A HUGE pile of ants 1 to 1.5 inches deep!  How in the world did that many ants get under there?  How did I manage to move the water bowl and NOT see it or get any ants on me?!

I quickly put Tippy back in the house before she decided to investigate by sticking her nose in it.  I got my bug spray and began the extermination of these intruders.  I sprayed, stirred, and sprayed some more.

Once they were all dead and the bug spray had dried, I hosed them off of the driveway so it would be safe for Tippy when she went back out.

I had never seen anything like that before.  Sorry ants.  You picked the wrong place to try to set up housekeeping today.

 

 

12 thoughts on “SURPRISE

    1. Yes, it was a little creepy. But, I knew I had to get rid of them. I was very surprised that I didn’t get any on me when I picked up her bowl! If I had unknowingly stuck my hand in the middle of that mess, I would have seriously been creeped out, if I didn’t have a heart attack.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your kind words and nomination. I will try to do this soon – maybe not today. It’s a crazy week for me because our Relay For Life event is Saturday and I am the lead coordinator for it. Lots to make sure is done before then.

      Like

  1. Were they fire ants? I hate them with a passion! They are everywhere around here and make their mounds any and everywhere. I would have done the exact same thing you did.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

