OUR FIRST REAL ADVENTURE: DAY ONE

If you have been following my blog, or have read my “about” page, you know that one of the things I want to do is travel with Tippy and let you know about the dog friendly places that I find along the way.  Well, last week, we finally got to go on our first real adventure. A park ranger friend of mine was temporarily stationed at Mammoth Cave National Park near Bowling Green, Kentucky.  She invited Tippy and I to come visit while she was there, and we took her up on her offer.

Tippy knew something special was up when I was packing the car, including her bedding and crate.  She was so excited when we set out for our longest road trip yet.

leaving-for-mammoth-cave
Mom, I don’t know where we’re going, but I’m so excited!

At about half way through the drive, we stopped at a Rest Area for a pit stop.  There were lots of great smells where other dogs had been and, interestingly enough, we saw someone sunbathing. It was a very nice day, but I think I would have been afraid to fall asleep at a place like that, out in the open.  I guess she felt there were enough people around that she would be safe.  I hope she was.

After about 5 hours, Tippy’s excitement had worn off and she decided to stretch out for a nap.

after-5-hours
Are we there yet?

When we arrived in Bowling Green, my friend, who calls herself Tippy’s Aunt L., was still at work.  This was probably a good thing, because Tippy and I walked around outside of the hotel for about 30 minutes before she arrived.  That got rid of some of Tippy’s stored up energy and she was able to get used to some of the smells before heading into her very first hotel, the TownePlace Suites, by Marriott.  (For your information, here is a website that lists all of Marriott’s pet friendly hotels by state/country.)

at-the-hotel
Hip hip hooray! We’ve arrived!

All of the staff was very friendly and Tippy loved the attention.  She got a small bag of treats from the hotel, as a welcome gift.

treat-bag
Treats from the hotel.

Aunt L. has had several temporary assignments this year, so, was able to get a free upgrade to a 2 bedroom suite.  It was very, very nice.  However, it was on the 4th floor, so that meant a ride in the elevator, a new experience for Tippy.  She was a little scared at first, partly because it was a small room that moved and, I think, partly because the floor was slick and hard for her to stand on.  But, she did great!

Aunt L. stayed with her while I went out to get our luggage.  She said Tippy whined the entire time I was gone.  😦   But, she quickly got used to being in the hotel room with us.  She even enjoyed the view from the 4th floor.

To be on the safe side, we left her in her crate while we went out for dinner.  She was fine when we got back and enjoyed her first evening in a hotel.

7 thoughts on “OUR FIRST REAL ADVENTURE: DAY ONE

Leave a Reply

