SNOWED IN

You aren’t seeing things.  You are getting two blogs on two consecutive days from me.  To what do you owe this rare pleasure?  I’m snowed in and have some extra time on my hands.

Yes, I am snowed in with only 4.5″ of snow on the ground.  Those of you who live in Colorado, Canada, Wisconsin,  or any other place that receives a lot of snow, probably think this silly.  However, we don’t get a lot of snow here, so we don’t have the means to get all of the county roads cleared.  Also, in my case, even if they were clear, my driveway is not.  As I have said before, it is a quarter mile of hills, curves, and shade.  Here are some pictures from this morning.  It is steeper than it appears.

Tippy patiently waited for me to have breakfast and coffee this morning before going on our walk.  Well, sort of patiently.  As you can see, she did move to the door to let me know that she was ready and I should hurry myself up.

 

Yesterday, the high temperature was 22°F.  It never ceases to amaze me that snow will melt at those temperatures.  Of course, it all refroze last night (low 10°F), making my walk today a bit more laborious than it was yesterday.  It also presented some interesting sites.  My boot prints in the snow had refrozen into beautiful crystals.

The only new animal signs I saw were from rabbits and squirrels.  I guess everything else has found a warm place to ride out this cold spell.  Tippy was happy to be out, regardless.

2snow-tippy
Looking for movement.

I did see lots of birds, trying to find something to eat to keep warm, I would imagine.  In the second picture below, a bird was “walking on water.”  The larger dark object is a log sticking up out of the ice.  The water wasn’t frozen solid around it, so I believe the bird was taking advantage of that fact and getting a drink.

The frozen pond was beautiful, glistening in the sun.  Unfortunately, the picture does NOT do it justice.

2snow-sparkly-ice
Glistening ice.

When we got back to the house, Tippy, once again, decided that she wasn’t quite done running.

Her antics left her with a snow beard.

2snow-tippy-with-beard
I think I look rather distinguished with a beard.

I thought she was going to stay outside again, but, she decided to come in after about 5 minutes.  I don’t blame her.  The sunny bed was a much warmer place for a nap.

 

24 thoughts on “SNOWED IN

    1. Thanks for stopping by. Glad you enjoyed it. And, she IS really fast. It tickles me when she takes off running in circles. That’s one reason I believe she is part Australian Shepherd or some sort of herding dog.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh my! Actually, an ice storm is worse than snow. No one can drive on ice, even if some people think they can. I’m sure you were able to find creative ways to enjoy his birthday anyway.

      Like

      1. We did have fun -we had hot chocolate and a fire and lots of presents. The ice storm really never came but we were all afraid of it because an unannounced one had come a few weeks prior! I have spring fever because we have had several 60+ degree days! Those days are what really inspired me to get us back into the wild… and on my blog! Have you had a weirdly warm winter too?

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Yes. We have had a weirdly warm winter. I was able to play outdoor tennis twice last week! Then, it will all of a sudden get really cold. Our high tomorrow is supposed to be only like 35°F! I’m cold today, and it’s 42°F. I’ll freeze tomorrow. I know that winter will be here. It may just be in short spurts this year. The biggest thing I hate about that is that the trees and flowers get confused, put out early, and then get killed off.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

