HAPPY ADOPTION DAY

July 11th marked 4 years since I brought Tippy home from the local humane society.  It seems like it was yesterday, but also feels like she has always been here.  I can’t imagine my life without her.

The day started off with a continuation of the cow saga as I found them out again.  Tippy “defended” the house while I made sure they got back into the pasture field.  Later that day, my neighbor and dad were able to find out where they had gotten out and added some fencing.  So far, knock on wood, they have stayed where they belong.

Cow and bull in the garden
But, this grass is greener!

We took our normal 20 minute walk fairly early, before it got unbearably hot.  Tippy cooled off in the garage while I continued walking the driveway to get in 30 minutes of exercise. The fireplace hearth seemed to be the best place to finish cooling off before taking a much needed nap.

To celebrate her adoption day, I gave her a peanut butter/carob Puppy Sucker.

Puppy sucker
Puppy Sucker treat for Tippy.

She heard the cellophane crinkling – the universal signal that a treat is coming, and was very excited about whatever it was I had behind my back.

waiting for the sucker
I know you have something for me, mom.

When I first gave it to her, she wasn’t sure what it was.  However, it didn’t take her long to realize it was food and figure out how to eat it.  It was gone in 3…2…1, literally.  Once she got it in her mouth,  it was totally gone in 3 minutes.

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To top off the day, she went with me to play tennis and made some new friends.

It was pretty much a perfect day.  One with a little excitement, some exercise, a good long nap, a special treat, and a car ride!  It doesn’t get much better than that for Tippy!

26 thoughts on “HAPPY ADOPTION DAY

    1. When we walk back in the neighbor’s field, she is off leash and runs most of the time. So, even though I walk longer, I’m sure she has actually gone further than me. LOL

      Like

  1. Happy Adoption Day!! Wow… nice Treat Tippy….. Oddly enough I was looking through my diary the other day for a similar reason and I adopted Benji on Saturday 3rd October 2015. I probably thought it was longer because of the WaWa being here so long. But there you are – not quite two years yet. Now that the WaWa is no longer here we can get back to where we left off.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! I’m behind in reading and commenting on the posts I follow, so, I didn’t know that the WaWa is no longer there. I’m sure that is an adjustment for everyone. Hopefully, you and Benji can enjoy each other’s company a little bit more now.

      Like

Leave a Reply

